Bolted joint comparison to Eurocode

Comments

• peteroznewmanpeteroznewman Member
    edited June 2018

You did a great job on the mesh so far, I'm sure you can whip the column into shape.

You also know more about keeping the Shared Topology working now.

• Fabricio.UrquhartFabricio.Urquhart Rio de JaneiroMember
    edited June 2018
    Thank you Peter!!I I reachef an excelent mesh. Now I am modelling a portic, I am studying how to create join between cross section and solid model.

Best regards!!
    edited June 2018

Peter, good morning!

Can you help me, explaning how I use line body orientation?Because element orientation is used to solid or shell bodies. So for line bodies I do not know how I change the orientation. Now I will try to change in the geometry. But is it possible to change in the model?

edited June 2018

I think you have to specify beam section alignment in DesignModeler. You can specify it in Mechanical is it is a geometry operation.

edited June 2018

Ok. I understood. And the symmetry that I have applied, is it OK for the line bodies?

Another question, is about the load, I will add a load along the beam, and along the beam modelled by solids. So I have two points:

1 - The local buckling that will occure in the beam solid, or with the symmetry, the load is applied along the center line?

2 - Do I have to divide the load for two beacuse the symmetry, yes?

Thank you Peter!!

edited June 2018

Loads applied to a model using symmetry must be cut in half if the symmetry plane is cutting the face the load is applied to is cut in half.