UDF Geometry Connectivity

Hello,

For my current PhD research project, I my ultimate aim is to conduct a transient simulation with a time-varying domain. As I am a novice Fluent user, I have devised a series of tasks for myself to build up to the construction, proper execution, and analysis of such a model. While working through the tutorials that are available to Fluent users, I have gleaned that I will likely need to use UDFs to perform such a feat.

Herein lies my question, for the most recent “build up” task I’ve constructed for myself, I would like to run a transient fluid flow simulation through a Converging-Diverging Nozzle where the “height” of the throat changes in time. In the sketch I constructed for the geometry, I was able to successfully change this parameter during a parametric study. However, what I’m less clear on is whether it’s possible to instruct a UDF to change this specific dimension during my simulation. Do you know whether it is possible to do this, and if so which MACRO I ought to use in the associated UDF?

Thinking a bit down the line, the models I will ultimately run are to simulate a complete cardiac cycle (heart beat). For my application, we will not need to utilize Two-Way FSI since we are taking domains from an array of patient populations, and we wish to simulate the dynamics within a specific individual. Do you have any recommendations/best practices for how to use a new geometry file at each time step, or possibly have a few geometry files that the meshing components of ANSYS is able to interpolate between when appropriate? Any suggestions and/or will be greatly appreciated.

If my question is not clear, please let me know what I can do to help delineate my issues further. Thank you in advance for your assistance and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Regards,

John

Answers

• RobRob UKForum Coordinator

OK, the method for that is relatively straightforward, the execution much less so.