2D element type in workbench

Hi everybody,

I'm performing a 2D analysis on ansys transient structural. To be more precise i import a temperature field (variable with time) from fluent and then i process on transient structural to get the stress and the strain of the structure itself.

Well i have a problem with the tensional state of the 2D body: i want to get a plain strain while i get a plain stress. I checked on "solution" the mesh element and by default i have SHELL181 which has 6 DOF (UX,UY,UZ,ROTX,ROTY,ROTZ). How can i change the mesh element to a planar element with just the plane dof? For instance PLANE42 or another one with only UX,UY,ROTZ degrees of freedom?

I also tried to import my mesh to mechanical APDL, but i suppose i'm not good at it since i get errors on importing and so on...

Thank in advance!

Best Answers

Answers

• Thank you for the fast answer.

By activating the option "plain strain" under Geometry tree i get another error: "The addin does not support transfer of data for 2D models. Please delete the load before you proceed." and so i cannot transfer the information from Fluent to Transient Structural. The imported body temperature is not loaded on Transient structural module and in this way i can't go on with the structural simulation. How can i solve this?

Thank in advance!

• @rkumbhar

Even if i checked this option of "plain strain" i carry on getting the strain along Z different from zero ( z direction is the normal direction of my 2D analysis).

I read that "plain strain" means automatically that the strain along the normal direction has to be zero, this is not happening. Do i have to check also the KeyOption of the element?

Thank in advance