Ultimate load capacity of a beam

Chiddy22Chiddy22 Member Posts: 7

Hello all,

I am trying to verify the load carrying capacity of a concrete beam reinforced with only longitudinal reinforcement at the bottom. For the analysis, I used nonlinear concrete (which has Drucker-Prager strength parameters defined) and nonlinear steel (which has bilinear isotropic hardening parameters defined) available in ANSYS library. I have carried out the analysis but the results does not look right. To get the ultimate load-deflection curve, I plotted a curve of the total deformation against the force reaction and I am getting a straight line graph. I am not sure if these are the correct parameters to plot to get the curve. Please I am still learning to use ANSYS software and I would appreciate advice and help on how to solve this problem.

Thanks

Comments

• peteroznewmanpeteroznewman Member Posts: 11,075

@Chiddy22

You should go to DesignModeler and Form New Part with the Solids so you don't need any contacts. Note that you can't include the Beams.

Then in Mechanical, add two Mesh Sizing controls so you get exactly 56 nodes (55 elements) along the edges of the concrete and the lines of the rebar.

Add a Node Merge Group so that one set of nodes along the rebar is shared with the concrete and not separate from the concrete, 2x56 = 112.

Now change the Fixed Support to two separate Remote Displacements, one holding X,Y,Z and rotation about Z at 0 leaving the rest free, and the other holding X,Y and rotation about Z at 0 and leaving the rest free. Change the Force to Remote Displacement in Y only. Ignore the warning about not enough constraints appear to be applied.

I solved for 1 mm of displacement at the center. This may not be a large enough value to reach the yield strength of the material.

Please tell me, from the Concrete material model you used, what is the value of stress that is the threshold for yielding in tension and in compression?