Engineering Data is extremely laggy and unresponsive but everything else works fine

ColinBeattyColinBeatty Member Posts: 2

I asked this on a different forum (3D Design) as its my first time on this forum but thought I would expand it to this one as well:

I have been trying to do research on this topic but have yet to find a solution that has helped me. Pretty much the engineering data is lagging and non responsive; however, every other feature in ANSYS works well, including explicit dynamics, thus I do not think it is the speed of my laptop doing this. I have deleted my temporary files and rebooted my computer, in addition to, deleted my roaming ANSYS folder under appdata. After deleting the folder in appdata it got a tiny bit faster but still not enough. I have seen this response on other forums but thought I will try in this one and maybe get a different answer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Answers

• AniketAniket Posts: 1,235Ansys Employee

what part is laggy in Engineering data exactly? Does turning on Filter Engineering data makes any difference?

-Aniket

How to access Ansys help links

Guidelines for Posting on Ansys Learning Forum

• ColinBeattyColinBeatty Posts: 5Member

Everything in engineering data is hanging, even if filter engineering Data is on or off

• AniketAniket Posts: 1,235Ansys Employee

Hi! 

Did the problem occur “randomly” or in conjunction with some change on your computer? 

1. If you have a firewall active on your computer – this might be blocking the socket used by Engineering Data – please try to add an inbound/outbound rule to let the Ansys executables pass (the executables listed below)

1. "C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\v191\Framework\bin\Win64\AnsysFW.exe"
    2. "C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\v191\Framework\bin\Win64\AnsysFWW.exe"

2. If you have several graphics cards on your computer – make sure that the most powerful is being used by ANSYS software.