19.1 - Error message when opening Workbench

Hi there,

I am currently trying to run the 19.1 version, the installation appeared successful with no message errors, everything done with admin. rights.

However, when I open the Workbench, the following message appears :

"System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Ans.Addins.Infrastructure, Version=19.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
   at ACP.Addin.Load(AddinLoadContext context)
   at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.setupAddin(String path, String name, AddinBase addin)
   at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.LoadAddin(String name, String path)"

Nothing is loaded in the toolbox.

What could be the problem, this has me stumped (I have deleted all the file and re-installed the software) ?

Thanks

Erik

 

 

«1

Comments

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited September 2018

    Hi Erik,

    Could you provide the exact name of the package that you used to install ?

    Do you install ANSYS commercial products or discovery products as well ?

    Please also send us the output of the 'set' command (without quotation ' ') in the CMD Prompt.

    Thank you,

    Win

  • Erik ChisholmErik Chisholm Posts: 4Member
    edited September 2018
    Hi Win,
     
    Thanks for being so swift, ok, so here goes :
     
    - Package downloaded from website : ANSYSACADEMICSTUDENT_191_WINX64.zip
     
    - No other ANSYS commercial (or non commercial) products on this computer
     
    The message is :
     
    System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Ans.Addins.Infrastructure, Version=19.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
       at ACP.Addin.Load(AddinLoadContext context)
       at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.setupAddin(String path, String name, AddinBase addin)
       at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.LoadAddin(String name, String path)
     
    I have tried to do this manually but I have the same results
     
    Thanks again,
     
    Erik
  • Erik ChisholmErik Chisholm Posts: 4Member
    edited September 2018

    Hi Win,

    Okay I have solved the problem.

     

    The required files were on the computer but ANSYS workbench couldn't find the path to the Addins, hence my problem.

     

    I tried manually but that didn't work either, so, after uninstalling all of the components  :

     

    1) I unzipped the downloaded file gain

     

    2) Loaded the complete unzipped file folder intro a directory that I created

     

    3) When the installation prompted the directory, I changed the path to the chosen directory

     

    In hindsight it seems obvious as most installation problems are.

     

    I am now looking forward to using the ANSYS software !

     

    Thanks for offering a student version of your software.

    Erik

     

    P.S. : For those interested I am using a 5 year old Windows7 based workstation (i7-2920XM, 16 GB, NVIDIA Quadro 2000M) which is more than adequate for the student version.

     

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited September 2018

    Hi Erik,

    Thank you very much for the information and I'm glad that you have found a way to resolve the issue.

    Just a little clarification.

    When the installation wizard prompt you for a directory, did you specify the directory to ANSYSACADEMICSTUDENT191WINX64 folder or did you specify the directory that you like the products to be installed to.

    I'm guessing that you meant you did the latter to resolve the issue, correct ? 

    If so, that's the way that the product is supposed to be installed. The installation wizard would like to know where you want the products to be installed on, not where the installation package resides.

    Thank you,

    Win

  • davy.320davy.320 Posts: 1Member
    edited September 2018

    Hi @Erik Chishol,

    I am getting the same problem as you, I tried the following steps, would you be able to explain further about the solution.

    Hope you can help.

    Thanks

    Dennis

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited September 2018

    Hi Dennis,

    You meant you are getting this exact error message when launching Workbench ?

    "System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or assembly 'Ans.Addins.Infrastructure, Version=19.1.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
       at ACP.Addin.Load(AddinLoadContext context)
       at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.setupAddin(String path, String name, AddinBase addin)
       at Ansys.Core.Addins.AddinManager.LoadAddin(String name, String path)"

     

    If so, what is the name of the installation package you are using ?

    Did you run the installation wizard as 'run as administrator' ?

    Go to your installation directory (default is C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\ANSYS Student) , then right click on folder 'v191' > Properties, and post the screenshot here.

    Thank you,

    Win

  • david.ryvoldavid.ryvol Posts: 7Member
    edited October 2018

    Hi, I have the same problem... package is ANSYSACADEMICSTUDENT_192_WINX64

    I tried everything: reinstall, redownload, your solution, nothing helps

    Could you share with me where exactely did you install the software? Was it directly into your folder like C:\unzipped folder or 

    C:\unzipped folder\ANSYS Inc\ANSYS Student ?

    Thanks, David

     

    Hi Win,

    Okay I have solved the problem.

     

    The required files were on the computer but ANSYS workbench couldn't find the path to the Addins, hence my problem.

     

    I tried manually but that didn't work either, so, after uninstalling all of the components  :

     

    1) I unzipped the downloaded file gain

     

    2) Loaded the complete unzipped file folder intro a directory that I created

     

    3) When the installation prompted the directory, I changed the path to the chosen directory

     

    In hindsight it seems obvious as most installation problems are.

     

    I am now looking forward to using the ANSYS software !

     

    Thanks for offering a student version of your software.

    Erik

     

    P.S. : For those interested I am using a 5 year old Windows7 based workstation (i7-2920XM, 16 GB, NVIDIA Quadro 2000M) which is more than adequate for the student version.

     

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited October 2018

    Hi david.ryvol,

    Don't install software under your unzipped folder. If possible, just install it to the default directory, C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\ANSYS Student.

    Thank you,

    Win

  • david.ryvoldavid.ryvol Posts: 7Member
    edited October 2018

    I did this in the first place and got the same problems as described

  • yashasatiyashasati Posts: 1Member
    edited July 2019

    Hi @tsiriaks

     

    I am getting the same problem , I tried the above mentioned  steps but it is not working. So, can you help me with this.

     

    Thanks

     

    Yash

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited July 2019

    Please try the suggestions and things to check in here

    https://studentcommunity.ansys.com/thread/problem-with-running-workbench/

    and see if that helps you.

    Thanks,

    Win

  • Sushanth27Sushanth27 Posts: 9Member
    edited July 2019

     I am fasing this problem-Failed to load addin Ansys.Simulation.Core.Addin from location C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\v181\Addins/Simulation/bin/Win64//Ans.Simulation.Core.dll. This addin will be skipped.: Root element is missing.

    can you please help me in solving this problem?

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited July 2019

    This is a different issue, please create a new thread and include the entire content of the 'Show Details' in your error message box

    Thanks,

    Win

  • GeckooGeckoo Posts: 10Member
    edited October 2019

    Hey, I have a very similar issue.
    I got a zipped package from my professor which I unsipped to a temporary folder in "Downloads" containing the two files "ANSYS192_WINX64_DISK1" and "ANSYS192_WINX64_DISK2".  I installed it using the default path "C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc" without any error.
    However, when I want to start ANSYS WorkBench I get the error message

    Unexpected error: The following required addins could not be loaded: Ansys.Study.Addin.Addin, Ansys.Study.Addin.Gui.Addin. The software will exit.

    Details:
    The addin Ansys.ACT.WorkBench.Addin could not be loaded, as the assembly C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\v192\Addins/ACT/bin/Win64/Ansys.ACT.WorkBench.dll does not exist.

    I ran the wizard as administrator and my windows is in English language (although my ANSYS is in German, but installing in German settings did not work, either). I tried also to create a folder "ANSYS" in "C:\Program Files" and install it there - without success.

    Do you have any idea how to solve this issue?

    Thank you very much and best regards
    Ruben

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited October 2019

    Hi Ruben,

    Do you have any .err file under C:\Program Files\ANSYS Inc\  ?

    Also, can you post the entire error message or its screenshot ?

    The error message of the original post could also be caused by security (especially anti-virus) software. However, your error message is slightly different (it's a different add-in) but it's worth try reinstalling again (make sure you completely remove ANSYS Inc folder first) while these security software is off.

    Thanks,

    Win

     

  • GeckooGeckoo Posts: 10Member
    edited October 2019

    No, I do not have any .err file.
    Hmm tbh I do not feel too comfortable to switch off my security software completely if I do not have to.
    Do you think this is the problem?

     

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited October 2019

    Do you have that Ansys.ACT.WorkBench.dll. in that directory ?

    If not and if there is no .err file (error file) , it means ANSYS installer did install it but something on your machine remove it afterwards, which is very likely security software.

    I'd recommend to try reinstalling it while temporarily turn off security software, and make sure you run the setup.exe with 'run as administrator'

  • GeckooGeckoo Posts: 10Member
    edited October 2019

    Now it worked, thank you

  • tsiriakstsiriaks 3240 El Camino Real #290, Irvine, CA 92602Posts: 3,071Forum Coordinator
    edited October 2019

    That's great ! Thank you for the update !

  • mubeenmubeen Posts: 5Member

    I am getting these whenever I try to view my Ansys files can anyone say how to solve these


Sign In or Register to comment.