Thermally tuned Waveguide tutorial trouble

mattsarg55mattsarg55 Member Posts: 4

Hello fellow lumerical users,

I am new to the software and was attempting to do the thermally tuned waveguide tutorial found here:

I was able to complete the tutorial succesfully but I am attempting to apply the logic found here to my own waveguide. I create the entire structure in HEAT, run a sweep, download the temperature grid, and upload that info to MODE to get this (Note: I only included the waveguide and a bit of the surrounding material in MODE which is why my temp grid structure is much longer):

However, once I begin running the script provided in the tutorial:

thermal_tuning_waveguide_2D_mode_sweep.lsf

My temp grid shrinks back to the origin and I see this:

an I still get results for my sweeps but they are all zero. Why is this happening? Do I need to change something in the provided script? Also, where does the equation, Phase = 2*pi*(neff-neff0)*L/lambda come from? Does it have a name?

Hopefully someone can help me with this as lumerical seems to be an amazing program and I want to know how to apply it to the work at my job

Answers

• gsungsun Posts: 1,102Ansys Employee

This script file does not set simulation region, nor the attribute size. so you will need to check your FDE settings. Before doing sweep, try to calculate modes at one temperature, by assigning temperature index, and see of the simulation region is normal.eg, you add a "break" after this section:

setnamed('temperature','enabled',0);

setanalysis('wavelength',1.55e-6);

findmodes;

neff0 = real(getdata('mode1','neff'));

break;

and see if it works as expected.

"where does the equation, Phase = 2*pi*(neff-neff0)*L/lambda come from? Does it have a name?"

As you can see, the script file gives neff0 in the above script, which is a reference point. At other temperature, the neff will be different from it, and thus creates a phase change.

Please test step by step.