Ansys Learning Forum Maintenance

NOTICE: We will be performing backend maintenance of our Learning Forum from April 5 to April 12, 2021. The result will be a new infrastructure but with little impact to user experience and design. Currently the forum is accessible in read-only mode as we complete our final migration. Thank you for your patience. For urgent issues please visit HERE.

Help simulating deformation of red blood cell — Ansys Learning Forum

Help simulating deformation of red blood cell

WazawakiWazawaki Member Posts: 10

Hello,

I'm new to Ansys and need some help simulating the deformation of a red blood cell. I've modeled and meshed my model but finding trouble moving forward. This is my model so far:

The model is a quarter of a red blood cell, with a silicon bead attached to it. I want to apply a force to the bead causing the cell to deform similar to this:

If any advice on how I can move forward and achieve this sort of deformation will be greatly appreciated

Thank you

Best Answer

• peteroznewmanpeteroznewman Member Posts: 11,369
    Accepted Answer

@Wazawaki

I recommend you delete the force and instead apply a Remote Displacement.

That way you can ramp on a displacement of your choosing.

Probe the results to obtain the Reaction Force at each load step of the displacement.

Answers

• 1shan1shan Ansys Employee Posts: 262

Hello @Wazawaki,