Tracking interfacial cells in 2 phase VOF

PawanPawan India Member Posts: 15

I am modeling laser melting of a solid using Solidification/Melting and VOF with an inert gas as the primary phase and the metal as the secondary phase. I want to apply the laser and other heat losses(convection and radiation) at the interface of the gas and the metal. When the laser melts the solid, the surface deforms and the interface location changes continuously. For this, I need to track the interfacial cells continuously at every iteration. The interfacial cells will have a volume fraction of the secondary phase in a given range(say 0.05 to 1) but this value changes in the cells at every iteration due to melting.

I am not an expert in writing UDFs and have started just a few months back. From what I understand, I can get the index of the interfacial cells using F_C0 and F_C1 and update these using DEFINE_ADJUST.

Can someone please give some hints on the correct way of doing this? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• KremellaKremella Posts: 3,123Admin

Hello,

Do you wish to track this information for post-processing purposes? Or do you need to extract this information and pass this along to the solver?

Karthik

• PawanPawan IndiaPosts: 107Member

@Kremella Thanks for your reply. I want to apply my source terms in these interfacial cells only and the position of interfacial cells will change at every iteration as the laser melts the surface. SO I hope that I should use DEFINE_ADJUST. Next is to get the index of the interfacial cells. For this, maybe I can use F_C0 and F_C1 and store the index in a UDM. I have written a code by taking a help from different online sources. But as I said that I am not an expert so I am not confident that the code is right.

• PawanPawan IndiaPosts: 107Member