Two way FSI of a deformable pipe

omkar5990omkar5990 Member Posts: 8

Hello all,

I am new to FSI and have been working on a problem that involves a deformable pipe. The length of the pipe is 20 mm and the internal diameter is 3 mm. The thickness of the pipe is 1 mm. I am trying to simulate flow of water in the pipe for the case when the rear portion of the pipe (last 5 mm ) is made up of a more compliant material and has a pulsating external pressure being applied to it. Water flows into the pipe at 0.5 m/s for which I have used a velocity-inlet condition. What i am hoping to achieve is that due to deformation of the pipe at the rear end, there is reversal of water flow and it flows back towards the inlet. When I run the system coupling, it throws an error which says 'negative volume detected.' I have tried decreasing the time step and that has not helped. For a different run, I got an error which said that excessive distortion of some elements in the transient structural module is detected. I have tried refining the mesh and ramped the load over a much larger time. Could someone please help me troubleshoot the problem? I have attached the workbench file below.

Thanks!

Comments

• SteveSteve Posts: 153Forum Coordinator
    edited May 2019

Hi,

A general recommendation for FSI cases is to perform a simplified analysis with each solver independently before moving to a full 2 way coupled simulation. This will allow you to debug any issues in one solver that are independent of the other solver. In Mechanical, this would mean estimating fluid forces and applying them as boundary conditions. In Fluent, this would mean estimating deformation and applying a moving boundary with a profile, or using a 1way coupled simulation to get the deformations from Mechanical.