Design Modeler 2D surface refinement

avidanoavidano Member Posts: 14
edited January 13 in Preprocessing

Hi to all!

I am new to cfd and am struglling with preparing the model for meshing. I want to refine the rectangle around the cylinder, but I cannot get 1part and 2 bodies to the Ansys Meshing.

I have surface made from 2d cylinder inside a circle domain (sketch1) and surface made from rectangle and cylinder(sketch3) as shown in the attached figure. Is cylinder in sketch3 excess?

I tried with several different methods but either I end up with the meshed cylinder interior either whole rectangle mesh-free.

Can someone tell me the steps I need to do? I have lost a lot of time struglling with this issue.

Comments

• RobRob UKForum Coordinator Posts: 8,391

Please can you post the image so we can see it? Staff aren't permitted to open attachments. If it's 2d have you built the model on xy plane and set the workflow to 2d before opening Meshing?

• avidanoavidano Member Posts: 14

Hi Rob, here is the image.

Under the geometry options I have put the 2D analysis. Also, it is built in xy plane as shown in the image.

Thank you for the effort!

• peteroznewmanpeteroznewman Member Posts: 11,072

@avidano

You need to start a New Sketch on the XY plane and draw a rectangular body. You need a rectangular hole in the first body.

Review this discussion: https://forum.ansys.com/discussion/432/how-i-can-split-surfaces

edited January 17

Thank you @peteroznewman. To sum up for others: create plane, make surfaces, use slice operation, use boolean operation where necessary and in the end just select all surfaces to make new part. Result is 1 part with multiple bodies.

Below I attach my drive link to wbpz as file size did not reduce much when mesh was cleared. I would be thankful if someone could check if I did it right way and answer my doubts.

1. Did I prepare geometry well? I did not use share topology action and didnt apply any thickness (1m as per default)