What kind of support should I use at the top of a landing gear for explicit analysis.

Hello Everyone! I am new to the explicit dynamics module. I am doing impact analysis of a main landing gear as it lands at a certain velocity. The top of the landing gear is a beam of sorts which is supposedly attached to an aircraft which is not in the model. I am confused about what kind of support I should use at the top so that it represents its attachment to the aircraft and still have it move downwards to the platform/ground in the analysis. Also I want to apply a weight in the downward direction at the middle but someone told me I am making a novice mistake by applying a force and fixed support at the same beam and it will not contribute to the analysis. A picture of model taken during static structural is and the new model is attached. Can I use these settings for explicit dynamics? And is the force in the middle contributing to the analysis considering there is a fixed support right under it?

I will be very grateful. Thanks in Advance.

Best Answers

• peteroznewmanpeteroznewman Posts: 11,478Member
    edited March 28 Accepted Answer

@Muhammad_Talha

You want to simulate this landing gear as it touches down and supports the weight of an aircraft that is not modelled. I see a triad in the top picture, so it looks like Z is up, and X is forward, while Y is lateral.

Let's assume that you only care about the maximum stress during the first touchdown. Aircraft often bounce back up into the air after the first touchdown. You can make a model to show the bounce, but it is more complicated. If you only want to simulate the downward followed by some upward displacement and end the simulation before the craft moves above the initial touchdown height, that lets you build a simpler model.

Let's also assume that the rest of the aircraft provides the stability to prevent the landing gear from rotation about the X, Y and Z axes as well as any lateral motion.