Bending moment a long a beam

ChomanSalihChomanSalih Australia Member Posts: 2
edited November 2020 in Structures

Hi, I am new to Ansys and I have a simple question (I believe). I want to model a beam resting an elastic foundation. I mean insert elastic support>selct bottom face>unput foundation stiffness.

I have modeled and validated this with given analytical equations on Strand 7 with line body. However, I want to model it as a 3d object and when I model the beam as a 3d object in Ansys, I cannot insert the beam results tool in the solution part (the option is not there anymore). I modeled the beam as rexctangular cross section then extrude to the desired length.

There are many videos on Youtube about shear and bending moment diagrams, but they are all for line bodies with defined cross section. I can do that too but the issue that I have is I cannot insert elastic support for the line body. It just doesnt recognise the 3d beam for the elastic support when modeled as a line.

Can anyone suggest how to model a 3d beam with elastic support with the ability of drawing the bending moment diagram along the beam (along x, around z axis)?

I am using Ansys Workbench 2020 R1

thank you

Answers

• KaiKai Posts: 113Forum Coordinator

Hi @ChomanSalih , when you model the beam like geometry with beam 188 element (1D beam), Ansys will be using Timoshenko beam theory to do FEA and provides some easy tools for users to extract beam related results under beam tool. When you model the beam like geometry with solid elements such as solid186, Ansys doesn't know the geometry is a beam. Instead, it will treat it as a regular 3D geometry. For this reason, we don't have any beam tools for 3D geometry. What you may do is to extract force reaction and moment reaction under "probe" along different "surface" (construction geometry). This may give you bending moment diagram.

• pdvelanipdvelani Posts: 7Member