UDF Issue with High Performance Computer (HPC)

Engineer86Engineer86 Member Posts: 11

Hi,

I am currently solving a sliding mesh problem of a wind turbine using an interpreted UDF for zone motion in Fluent V19.

When I start Fluent and run my journal file on my desktop PC (single processor 8 core machine) the run starts fine and the results of the blade lift and drag monitors are calculated correctly.

To be more time efficient I’m trying to run the same run on the HPC but the results are coming out wildly different and incorrect.  In the journal file to read in the UDF file I have written –

; Read in the user defined function for blade sliding mesh interface

/define/user-defined/interpreted-functions "4_Blade_40_Zone_Motion_900_100_V19.c" "cpp" 10000 yes

On the HPC machine I am using two nodes each with 16 cores. This is my first attempt at running a model on the HPC and was just wondering if there is something else that I need to be aware of/add into the journal file to ensure the UDF is initialized correctly across the multiple nodes? I’m not sure and can't think of anything else that could cause the issue.

Any information would be appreciated

Comments

• KremellaKremella Admin Posts: 2,326
    edited September 2020

What differences are you seeing? Is your simulation fully converged?

Are you able to get similar convergence on the two models?

Could you please elaborate on the differences?

Thanks.

Karthik

• Engineer86Engineer86 Member Posts: 11

Hi Karthik,

Thanks for the reply. The model I am running on my PC is using an interpreted UDF. The model has 4 blades and after around 10 rotations taking account of the blade/wake interactions the lift and drag monitors become periodic and convergence is reached after around 20 rotations.