RSharma
Subscriber

Yes "rwoolhou" the problem is surely concerned about wax formation on the walls, or the build up of material as wax forms in the oil and drops out? Do we have any previous discussion about this or any other lead about this type of problem.

I would like to mention the content of the attachment here as follows:

Dear Ansys Members,

I am a beginner of Fluent and have a very basic query regarding solid deposition in crude oil pipewalls. I am finding difficulty to setup an appropriate model for the following problem statement which is described in detail below.

Geometry 

A 4 m length copper tube having diameter of 4 mm is used to transport a wax-oil mixture. The geometry is simply a straight pipe section (where one end could be velocity inlet and other end be pressure outlet or outflow). I am trying to replicate a closed flow loop setup (where there is circulation of fluid to and from between hot and cold water tanks) with this type of simplified geometry. Pipeline wall is exposed to ambient temperatures and the hot fluid is flowed in the pipe.

Problem Statement 

To model wax (solid) deposition in a pipeline using a wax-oil mixture (representing a crude oil)

Theory

• Wax molecules are dissolved in wax-oil mixture upto certain temperature called as cloud point , after which if oil temperature drops, wax crystals starts to precipitate and the flow of oil completely freezes at pour point temperature. In our case, pour point- 4 degree Celsius and cloud point -13.9 degree Celsius.  

• So, at temperatures between cloud and pour point , a wax-oil gel type would form (intermediate product) , and after temperature drops below 4 deg Celsius we would observe complete solid deposition at the pipewalls. 

• Due to temperature difference of bulk mixture and ambient temperature, there generates a concentration gradient and where wax molecules transport from bulk to pipewalls owing to molecular diffusion phenomena.