General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Clamping and bending analysis query

• NAmeliaB91
      Subscriber

ANSYS newbie here! For this simulation I am trying to represent a Scaffold coupler being clamped to a scaffold tube, whilst the tube is supported and a load is being applied to the tube. Fortunately I have achieved the clamping effect of the coupler to the tube and I am happy with the results. However, I want to also see the behaviour of the coupler when a load and support is placed on the tube. When I tinker with the simulation by suppressing either the clamping (bolt pre-tension) or the application of load, I get the expected results. But when activating them both I do not get the results I am expecting.    I'm just wondering if this combined application can be done in ANSYS? The purpose of this simulation is to represent some four point bending tests,where a coupler is torqued to the tube at 50Nm (on each fastener). The attached screenshot should hopefully show the scenario more clearly to what I have described. Any information/advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.   

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Uniform thin walled parts like the pipe and the sheetmetal parts of the clamp are best represented in the model using shell elements. You can get shell elements if you open the Geometry editor and create a Midsurface from the solid bodies, and the sheet thickness will be automatically assigned to the surface.

In the contact definitions, set them to Use Sheet Thickness, and the contacts will behave like they do for the solid bodies. Though there seems to be a gap of the wall thickness, they will work properly. If you set the display to show shell thickness, it will look again like the solid bodies in Mechanical.

• NAmeliaB91
      Subscriber