Fluids

Fluids

Condensation Issue

• Hassan_Kashif
      Subscriber
      I am commenting on this thread as I am having a similar problem. I am attempted to model condensation of water vapor into water vapor. I am quite new to this type of modelling and so far I have come across the use of VoF model and Mixture modelling. I am now using Eurlerian model to model Water as a Primary phase and Air and Water Vapor as 2 secondary phases. From tutorials modelling condnesation, all focus on condensation on a 2D surface. Most use VoF and the evaporation-condensation model but confusingly set mass transfer as water-liquid to water vapor, which is the opposite of what they are modelling. I ran this set up and it worked for 2D geometry. The set up initialisation conditions are shown in the file name (model, phases, condenser material, vapor temperature, condenser wall temp, RH).
      The results are adequate however I am still unsure why this works when this is the mass transfer set up:
      The real problem arises when I transfer this method set up to 3D geometry, if I keep the mass transfer the same I do not get any condensation in my results:
      This is after 1500 iteration with a time step of 0.05s.
      From this I assumed the problem was the fact that the mass transfer was set up the wrong way since I had water vapor at 273.15 degrees that would not condense at all. So I changed the mass transfer from 'water liquid to water vapor' to 'water vapor to water liquid'. When I initialise this I get the warning:
      Compute Node ID: 0
      From-phase Domain ID: 2
      To-phase Domain ID: 0
      Cell Number: 0
      Latent Heat: -2.26922e+06

ERROR: Latent heat cannot be less than zero!