Fluids

Fluids

DDPM – error

• Nara22
      Subscriber

Hello everyone, 

I am relatively new to ANSYS and would like to receive help with my simulation.

I am simulating the two-phase solid particles - gas in an Eulerian-Lagrangian frame using DDPM and a vertical pipe. I activated the multiphase model and thus defined my solid phase and my gas phase. Within the solid phase, activate the 'Granular' option in addition to selecting its properties. 

The characteristics of my solid particles are the following:

Diameter: 0.0002m // Velocity_inlet: 0.81 m/s // Total flow rate: 0.03391665

I am using this DDPM option: 

My residuals are:

In the end, I got two issues:

1) I got an error in the results:

2) I got this trajectory calculation: trajectory calculations are not completed

I would appreciate any recommendations on those errors.

• Rob
      Ansys Employee

The first problem is a missing setting somewhere in the model. If you've been turning things on and off you may have caused a glitch in the set up. In that case you may have to start again if you can't find it. 

The incomplete message means you're not tracking particles long enough: they're running out of integration steps before leaving the domain. However, the continuity equation is very definitely not happy so I suspect incomplete particles are the least of your problems. 

Why are you using DDPM over DPM or Eulerian multiphase model? DDPM isn't used that commonly so I wonder if you need it. 

• Nara22
      Subscriber

Hello Rob, I am using DDPM because part of my research is track the particles in a Lagrangian framework including the particle volume fraction in it, and because the volume fraction of discrete phase is more than 10%.

I would appreciate any aditional comment to this matter.

Thank you.

• Rob
      Ansys Employee