General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Drop Test on Polyurethane Foam

• anner Mayo
      Subscriber

I am new to Ansys, and I was going to see if I could get some help running a test of a weight being dropped on a large block of soft polyurethane foam. I am using an explicit dynamics study. Whenever I run the analysis, the dropped weight tears through the pad and bounces off of the ground. I am guessing this could be due to incorrectly defining material properties.

I defined my own material based on some known properties. If there are any obvious errors I made as far as what properties I chose to define the material, help would be appreciated. I attached screenshots of my current material properties, and a single frame of the final results.

Thank you.

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Look under the Analysis Settings. There is a category for Erosion Controls (or something like that). That controls when elements are removed from the model.  Have you tried changing those controls? By default, it will remove an element when the strain exceeds 1.5, but many elastomers can deform to much higher values of strain. Try turning that control off or use a larger value.  The benefit of having the element removed is when it gets too distorted, the time step gets really tiny and the simulation takes too long (or generates an error). Maybe if the elements stay in the simulation, the weight won't hit the floor!

• anner Mayo
      Subscriber

Okay I turned off erosion. The pad seems to stay intact better, but I am getting a new error "energy error too large". Do you know of a way to fix this?

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Did you set the Erosion Control to the On Material Failure setting?  That is where it uses the Ultimate Tensile Strength data to remove an element from the simulation.

Another setting under Analysis Settings is Energy Error threshold (or something like that). I think the default value is 1.  Try a value of 10 or 100.