General Mechanical

General Mechanical

eKill and element distortion in workbench

• Reza Taheri
      Subscriber

Hi everyone!

I'm new to APDL command in workbench. Sorry if my questions are too obvious!

First question, In each time step of my model I find the damage status. I want to kill the element that has a damage status equal one for the next time step. Does this happen automatically or it is something that I should put in manually as APDL command? 

Second question, I get excessive element distortion error for few elements before my structure fails (I have a manual criteria for structure failure). I tried changing the mesh and load increment but no luck. Is it a good idea to use eKill to remove the element with high distortion? If so can you please guide me through it. My problem is displacement controlled and I want to go post-buckling, but error appears at buckling point.

Cheers

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Ekill is not automatically applied during a solution. This topic shows ekill and other failure criteria. 

https://forum.ansys.com/forums/topic/i-want-to-see-the-failure/

Note that the links to the script were broken during one of the many upgrades to this website  : (

Here is a good reference: https://simutechgroup.com/performing-ekill-element-death-in-mechanical

If you use the Explicit Dynamics solver, elements that have failed are automatically removed from the solution, which continues along without them.

• Reza Taheri
        Subscriber

Thanks Peter. The archive file is not available. Do you mind sharing it again if you still have it. 

I'm using surface model. I think explicit dynamic does not support surface models, so I assume APDL command in static structure is only option (?).