Fluids

Fluids

Enabling Multiphase Model (VOF)

• Vassili BRIODEAU
      Subscriber

Hello everyone,

I am running ANSYS 18.2 Student edition.

As a beginner, I train and would like to simulate the discharge of a fluid in another. This is basically the same situation as the one from Raef.Kobeissi, but with two different fluids, meaning the discharge of CO2 in a air for instance. I managed to do the tutorial with one fluid (air):

I first tried to divide the zone in two and add an interface. However, it seems that the interface allows heat tranfer but no mass flow. I observe a heat transfer through convection, but no discharge. As far as I understood, one needs to use a multiphase flow, probably a Volume of Fluid (VOF), but this is not accessible to me. I can only have access to wet steam simulation. I saw that peteroznewman posted in 17 January 2018

2-way FSI such as the above example, requires System Coupling, which is not included in  the Student license.

Is this the reason why I cannot have access to this? If this is the case, how can I manage the discharge of CO2 in air?

Regards

• Vassili BRIODEAU
      Subscriber

Up: is it possible to enable VOF in ANSYS Student? If yes, how?

Regards

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Yes, you can enable VOF in ANSYS Student.

Raef has some tutorials on VOF that are not 2-way FSI.

• Vassili BRIODEAU
      Subscriber

Thank you peteroznewman for your response.

I know this panel, yet in my version I cannot check this: only "Off" and "Wet steam" is available. I thought it is a license bug, as my result viewer does not work too, but in v18.2 and v19 I have the same problem.

Where does it come from? How to enable it?

Regards,

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

It is a flaw in your installation. I am running ANSYS Student 18.2 and have those options.