General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Euler–Bernoulli beam theory

• Abdulelah
      Subscriber

Hey, I'm new to Ansys and from what I read on the web I figured that Ansys is using Timoshenko beam theory. I have analytical solution using Euler–Bernoulli beam theory and I would like to compare it with my result from Ansys. So my question is: Does Ansys support Euler–Bernoulli beam theory? If yes how to do it? 

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber
    • Abdulelah
      Subscriber

Thanks for the reply. I have been trying to change the element type to beam4 but without success and I'm still confused with using command snippet. Here is what I'm doing: 

When I run it I got this error: Real constant set 2 undefined but referenced by element 2049.

and when I add r,2,1 and run it I got zero frequencies. 

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Did the Solution Output show that Beam4 was the element type being used?

You can get zero frequencies in a modal if you have not constrained the model adequately.  As a check, suppress the Solid body and apply a fixed support at one vertex of the line body.

• Abdulelah
      Subscriber

Yeah it did. I think my problem is with assigning real constants properly. does Ansys take the data from the geometry when I change the element type or should I assign them? 

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

BEAM188, which is the current technology, uses SECCONTROL  instead of real constants, so you should assign real constants 1-8 for BEAM4.

• Abdulelah
      Subscriber

It worked. Thank you very much!

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Please reply with the text you put in the Command Object to help others who might want to do this.

• Abdulelah
      Subscriber

sure, below "et,matid,beam4" I wrote the following: 

r,2,0.0016,2.1333e-7,2.1333e-7,0.04,0.04,0,0,0 

Where 0.0016 is the area, 2.1333e-7 is IZZ, etc. 

• ciema
      Subscriber