Fluids

Fluids

Evaporation from a liquid pool

• Cathleen
      Subscriber
      Hi All, 

I'm a relative novice to fluent. I'm running into issues trying to model evaporation from a liquid pool into a vapor+gas space. 
      I am using the multiphase(VOF) model with two phases (water vapor and water liquid). I have mass transfer via evaporation/condensation enabled between the two phases. 
      It is transient and energy model is on. 

The geometry is a skinny rectangle (.1mm x 2mm) mesh is square (0.02mm). BC is a temperature at the bottom wall, sides are symmetry. 

I separate the liquid and vapor phases via cell registers and patch to start with liquid on one half of the geometry and vapor on the other half. 

When I run this, the residuals bounce around (do not seem to be converging) and the liquid seems to diffuse into the vapor-space. I would expect to see the liquid interface recede as the water evaporates - not diffuse. I do not have gravity on (but the results are the same regardless). Any ideas what I am missing here? Thanks!
       MeshWater volume fraction initialwater volume fraction after 0.15 secondsresiduals

• shitizsehgal
      Subscriber
      I think if the fluid is stationary, you don't need k-epsilon model. Could you please provide some more information about the problem that you are trying to simulate( A paper or some document) ? I can try to help.
    • Cathleen
      Subscriber
      Hi, I've tried to reply twice, does not seem to be posting. I'm going to try and post the documentation as an image instead of a PDF.