General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Extracting acceleration from different locations

• YounesHB
      Subscriber

Hello all,

I am new to ANSYS. I started working with ANSYS two weeks ago. I searched a lot (youtube, google, and here) about the thing that I am looking for and couldn't find a solution. Here is my problem:

I simulated a cantilever beam in ANSYS. I want to excite this beam either from the base (fixed-end) or with a hammering pulse at the free end. I want to extract the time histories of acceleration response of the structure for example for 5 different points of it and analyze them. My next goal is to also build the model in the lab and put accelerometers on the aforementioned locations to verify the results. I would appreciate a lot if you can help me with this problem. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Cheers,

Younes

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Hello Younes,

What kind of test equipment do you have access to?

Do you have a Modal Hammer?  That means a hammer with a built-in Force sensor.  If you don't have a lab that has a Modal Hammer, you can rent one.

Do you have a shaker table?  That is what you would use for base excitation. If you don't have a lab that has a shaker table, you can rent one.

Regards,
      Peter

• YounesHB
      Subscriber

Hello Peter,

Many thanks for your reply.