Fluids

Fluids

Flame propagation in railway tunnel

• riteshnw
      Subscriber

Hello all.

I want to do the simulation for flame propagation inside the railway tunnel.

I have drawn the geometry, but now I don't know how to proceed with meshing and other thing.

Please help me out.

This is my first time to deal with fire propagation inside the system.

Thank you in advance.

• DrAmine
      Ansys Employee

Do you want to model burn out propagation (propagation of products of combustion) or you want to include combustion in your analysis. If it is your first time I would rather make some training and tutorials. 

• riteshnw
      Subscriber

I am trying with some online tutorials.

I want to include combustion in my analysis for the emergency purpose in case of ventilation system in the tunnels.

Best regards,

Ritesh

• DrAmine
      Ansys Employee
      Flame propagation can be done with premixed model if reactants are mixed on entry into fluid domain.
    • riteshnw
      Subscriber

Thank you Amine.

I will try with the premixed model.

There is also a big fan and there is sudden fire generation inside the tunnel.

What will you suggest me to see the fire propagation in presence of air from the fan? How can I proceed?

Till now I tried the simulations in fluid flow (Fluent) using k- epsilon model but I am not able to see any fire propagation.

• DrAmine
      Ansys Employee

Adding momentum flux to model the fan effect. 

Without combustion model like premixed model you won't see any propagation.

• riteshnw
      Subscriber

I will tried adding non-premixed model but I couldn't see the result.

I will try once again with premixed model.

Thank you.

• DrAmine
      Ansys Employee