Fluids

Fluids

Flow from a Nozzle

• viv_vid
      Subscriber

Hello Everyone,

I am working on a project wherein I am studying the flow from a nozzle and analyzing the velocity distribution. The following figures show the inlet and outlet boundaries which I set initially

• aitor.amatriain
      Subscriber
      Could you please show us some pictures of the mesh? Have you tried first to solve the same case but with single flow?
    • Rob
      Ansys Employee
      Did you do share topology in SpaceClaim? If yes, do you have any wall and wall:shadow pairs in the model? If no, did you do anything with the mesh interface set up in Fluent?
    • viv_vid
      Subscriber
      Dear Aitor these are the mesh pictures and yes I initialy tried with only water(without air) for the first case where the inlet was different. For the second case I have not yet tried that.
      I also noticed that in fluent the inlet direction seems to be reversed somehow.

To answer you Rob yes I did share the topology. I do not have any wall shadow pair in the model and no I did not mess with the mesh interface. My archive file size is greater than 50mb therefore I am not able to attach it here. but I can provide you with the pictures if they are needed.
      Thankyou

• Rob
      Ansys Employee
      Ah, did you label the face that's between the nozzle and airbox?
    • viv_vid
      Subscriber
      Yes I labeled that face( which connects the nozzle and the airbox) as inlet. As shown below

• Rob
      Ansys Employee
      OK, there are some hard coded labels that set stuff in Fluent. Inlet, outlet, wall etc. That surface is an "interior" type, but has been forced to be an inlet. If you're lucky it's fixable in Fluent. Change the boundary type to "wall". This should give a wall & wall:shadow. Then turn the wall to interior.
    • viv_vid
      Subscriber
      Thankyou for suggesting me this Rob. I did that and changed the wall to interior. Should I then change the zone name now to Inlet?