General Mechanical

General Mechanical

How to add spring connection in place of a bearing using combin14 in Workbench?

• ENV159
      Subscriber

Hello,

I am trying to create a shaft with bearings and a force applied on the end. This is a rotating shaft for a spindle. For the bearing locations I want to place a spring in place of the bearings because there is a preload force with a corresponding stiffness value. I am reading online that COMBIN14 is used for what I am trying to accomplish. How do I apply this method correctly in workbench? I am not too experienced in the command window but I am willing to learn. Here is an example shaft I am trying to experiment on and a spring layout from a paper. Another question, if I do not use a spring connection and only fixed supports, will there be a significant change in deflection?

Spring LayoutShaft Example With Boundary Conditions

Thanks

• Sandeep Medikonda
      Ansys Employee

Hello,

You might find this section from the help very useful in getting started.

Regards,
      Sandeep

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Hello,

Don't use fixed supports, it will have a significant effect on deflection. Create two Remote Points, each one scoped to one of the faces you had fixed. Apply the springs to those remote points. On one of the remote points, you also have to add a Fixed Rotation along the shaft axis, leaving the other two rotations free to avoid a zero pivot error on the solver.

If you didn't need a preload, you would just use a Bearing connection.

Also, instead of four springs at 90 degree spacing, consider using eight springs at 45 degrees. That is what ANSYS does for the Bearing connection which, without a preload, only requires four springs. The reason to use 45 degree spacing is that with 90 degree spacing, the stiffness in the 45 degree directions is only 70.7% of the stiffness in the 90 degree directions.

Regards,
      Peter

• ENV159
      Subscriber
      Thank you.