Fluids

Fluids

How to edit the data in .ip (interpolation) file?

• liangerscu
      Subscriber

Hey, all. 

I am a student working on a half-domain geometry simulation, using ANSYS FLUENT (the center plane of my geometry is with symmetric boundary condition, i.e. the variable gradient on this plane is 0). I have got the results on this half-domain simulation, and NOW, what I want to do is to use the results from this half-domain simulation as the initial condition for a full-domain simulation, by mirroring the half-domain results and import it into the full-domain case. 

I am able to export the .ip file for a half domain and tried to mirror the data in it, but cannot find a way to edit the .ip file (Notepad does not work). 

Any idea on editing .ip file from FLUENT. OR is there a way to create a new .ip file from the scratch? (I actually tried to create my own .ip file, BUT Notepad++ cannot handle a file bigger than 350 mb, and I am stuck). 

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! 

• Rob
      Ansys Employee

Try with a small file (100 cells maximum) to understand the format. You can write out non-binary so it'll be human readable. No reason why you can't then write your own file, but stitching it together could be difficult: I'll leave you to discuss that with IT. 

One thought, on your test model, what happens if you write out two interpolation files containing different data and then interpolate them both back onto the model? You may want to initialise everything to zero to make sure you're actually reading in new data. 

Finally, interpolation only accelerates convergence (in most cases) so you may just be quicker running the model. 

• liangerscu
      Subscriber

Thanks for your detailed reply. Thanks for your innovative ideas! I appreciate your insightful comments. 

1. I think I understand the file format already. The problem is that the file I am trying to write up is too big to be handled by Notepad++, which is upset.