General Mechanical

General Mechanical

How to make part of a body rigid

• edoardo
      Subscriber

Hello everyone,

I have a problem in simulating a flexible pivot (see the image below). The top plate is fixed, while the bottom plate has a force applied on the edge in -y direction. I need a solution to make the bottom plate rigid (as you can see I get an unrealistic result). I was thinking of splitting the body in 2 pieces, is that possible? In that case, what condition do I need to apply between the 2 parts? Any other possible solution?

I hope my question makes at least a little bit of sense. Forgive me for my lack of knowledge, I'm new to Ansys (using 16.0). If you need any more files/infos let me know. Thanks in advance

Edoardo

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Hello Edoardo,

The best version of this model would be built by having the three surface bodies to represent the flexures. The fixed body doesn't need to exist. Just fix the ends of the flexures where they would connect to the fixed body.  The moving body can be a rigid body. Just make it so by changing the setting under the Details for that solid body. Use three fixed joints to fix the end of each flexure to the rigid body.

Make sure you turn on Large Deflection under the Analysis settings.

• edoardo
      Subscriber

Hello Peter,

thank you for your prompt answer. I have a few more issues.

1) After defining the moving body as rigid, I wasn't able to apply a force on it (I could instead apply a force on the flexure). Instead I applied a remote force with success. Is there any difference between them?

2) Now it seems that I can't mesh the rigid bodies ( I tried with "Full Mesh" on Rigid Body Behavior but Ansys couldn't solve the model). Is there a way around?

3) Finally, I got a couple errors I'm failing to solve (one about the mesh, the other about boundary conditions):

Thank you in advance.

Edoardo

• edoardo
      Subscriber

Hello,