LS Dyna

LS Dyna

How to point LS Dyna license in High Performance Computing (HPC) cluster

• mmia1
      Subscriber

Hi,

I am a graduate student of Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge. I have LS Dyna network license installed in my office desktop. Since I have to run thousands of simulations for my PhD project, I am planning to use Louisiana State University (LSU) High Performance Computing (HPC). In LSU HPC, we have LSDyna software installed already. However, the license, I have, has been installed in my work desktop in my office. Could anyone please guide me how I can point the license of my office desktop in HPC so that I can run simulations in HPC nodes? Thanks again.

• Reno Genest
      Ansys Employee

Hello,

On all the HPC nodes, set the following environment variables:

LSTC_LICENSE=network

LSTC_LICENSE_SERVER=hostname_or_ip_of_desktop(license server)

You will find the complete LSTC license installation guide here:

https://ftp.lstc.com/user/download-instructions/License-Manager/LSTC_LicenseManager-InstallationGuide.pdf

username: user

password: computer

Reno.

• mmia1
        Subscriber

Hi

I was able to configure the license and now the cluster nodes can access my LSDyna network license installed in my office desktop. However, could you please suggest me which executable I should use for running LSDyna jobs. I have 1000 jobs to run in cluster. I am currently using ls-dyna_smp_d_r1000_x64_redhat59_ifort160 executable but when I select two nodes and 20 processors per node still it took one hour to finish one job only. Should I use ls-dyna_mpp_d_R101_winx64_ifort131_impi.exe version which is MPP? Could you please guide me what to do or what modifications needed in my batch script.

Thanks again.

• Reno Genest
      Ansys Employee

Hello,

SMP is good up to about 8 cores; beyond that there is almost no speedup. You need MPP for 20 cores across 2 nodes.