General Mechanical

General Mechanical

How to select elements which are above a certain temperature and kill them?

• Prashanth_Kulkarni
      Subscriber

Hello,

I have been trying to simulate electric discharge machining (transient thermal analysis) on a 2D axisymmetric body using ANSYS APDL software. After obtaining a temperature distribution, I now want to kill the elements above the melting temperature in order to obtain a crater. Can anyone guide me on how to proceed further to get the required results? I'm pretty new to ANSYS so any relevant answer or material would be appreciated

Thank you

• Surya
      Ansys Employee

The command NSEL can be used to select the nodes over a particular temperature and the command EKILL can be used to kill those elements. Please refer to this help documentation for the both NSEL - NSEL (ansys.com) and EKILL - EKILL (ansys.com)
      Also refer to this example code where a similar application is executed - Performing EKILL Element Death in Workbench Mechanical | SimuTech (simutechgroup.com)

Thanks Surya
      How to access the ANSYS Online Help ÔÇö Ansys Learning Forum
      Rules & Guidelines ÔÇö Ansys Learning Forum
    • Erik Kostson
      Ansys Employee
      Hi
      Below is a link that shows how to do this using nsel and esln commands:

All the best

Erik
    • Prashanth_Kulkarni
      Subscriber
      thank you for your swift reply I followed a similar procedure to the one you stated in your answer and was able to select the elements above melting temperature using esln. But, when I try to kill the elements using EKILL,ALL., The following error is showing up. Where did I go wrong? This is the code that I used. I just want to mention that I am doing the whole analysis using ANSYS APDL only and I was giving the code input line by line.
      /solu
      *do,time_val,0,1,1e-3
      !!! Apply load
      solve
      nsel,s,temp,,1400,1900
      esln
      ekill,all

Thank you

• Erik Kostson
      Ansys Employee
      Hi