Fluids

Fluids

how to simulate moving point heat source in ANSYS CD

• sanjaytiwari
      Subscriber

My Name is Sanjay. I am student in Department of Production in GPEM [global production enginering & management]. I am in second year of Masters degree programme.

I am doing my Thesis with Prof. Jacek Senkara. My work is in the area of Plasma Thermal overlaying process. I have some analysis to be conducted in ANSYS.

I want to know how we can simulate a moving point heat source with set boundary condition in ANSYS [ example of welding torch moving over plate to weld] . I did the simulation of Steady and Transient state heat condition but it is not directly related to the welding analysis which i am working on.

I am in desperate need of help. If you can please provide me your valuable guidance i will be indebt. 

I am stuck up at this point from past 2 months i am reading literature and journals but i could not find the exact solution which i need.

Looking forward for a positive and early reply.

Regards

Sanjay Tiwari

• Keyur Kanade
      Ansys Employee

You need to use UDF for that.

You will need to use DEFINE_SOURCE macro in UDF. 

Please check customization manual in help for further information on UDF. 

• sanjaytiwari
      Subscriber

Hi kkande,

Heartily Thanks, for the response.

But i am unable to understand as i am unble to decode the sentence you have said.

Please breif it and if possible provide a link for detailed explaination (like youtube link or any web link)

I know i am asking toooo much but if you my simulation will work. I will give you a beer party( as many you wish)

regards,

sanjay

• Keyur Kanade
      Ansys Employee

UDF is user defined function. 

Please go through following videos. 

You will need to write similar UDF using macro DEFINE_SOURCE.

Please go through customization manual in help. 

• sanjaytiwari
      Subscriber

Thanks for an early reply.

Now i understand what UDF is.