Fluids

Fluids

How to use DPM with multi processor cores?

• reza121
      Subscriber

Hello, I hope you are doing well.

I am using DPM for my simulations. There are 11 different mono-size injections and about 700 parcels are released at the inlet in each of those injections (i.e. 7700 parcels in total). The airflow is steady but the DPM is in "unsteady particle tracking" mode. The given particle time step size is 1e-7 and for all of the injections, the injection start time is at 0s and it ends at 1e-4s. please refer to the attached photos below.

The duct where I am studying the motion of the particles has a length of 10mm and the flow/particle velocity is 1 m/s. However, it takes more than a week to solve the particle paths from the inlet to the outlet no matter how many CPUs I use on the super-computer (I have tested 64 cores up to 640 cores). I have a feeling that only one core is used to track the particles. Is there any setting to allocate the number of cores for the particle trajectory calculation?

Since the particle phase is dilute and there is a one-way interaction between the flow and the particles, I would like to assign each of the parcels to a core to speed up the calculations. Is there a way to do that?

It is noteworthy that it takes only a few seconds to solve the particle trajectories when DPM is in steady mode. 

Thanks in advance

• Rob
      Ansys Employee

With that time step you're adding 1000 parcels per inlet facet per injection, ie you add a parcel per facet per particle time step. That may result in several parcels in the domain: the solver will report this in the TUI. 

You're also going to struggle with a max steps of 5,000,000 when the default is 500 (from memory). If you need that many steps to avoid incomplete trajectories you need a smaller time step. If you do need that many steps the cpu requirement is going to be excessive. 

• reza121
      Subscriber

Thanks for your reply Rob,