Electronics

Electronics

Maxwell error: divergence of magnetic field (B) different from cero at corners

• AlejandroFN
      Subscriber

I am studying the singularities that appear in inner sharp corners in Maxwell 3D transient simulations, where the the condition of Divergence of B = 0 is not satisfied. To understand how the errors are produced I would like to find information about the implementation of the T-Omega formulation used for 3D transient simulations in ANSYS Maxwell. I have search in the documentation (User´s guide Maxwell 3D and Maxwell Help) but there is not information about the details of the implementation of the T-Omega formulation. For example, among the information I am looking for, I would like to know what is the gauge used in the formulation. Anyone knows where to find this information? Or, anyone knows about a publication explaining the T-Omega formulation used in Maxwell 3D? In addition, do you know if there is any information, internal documents or publications, related to these local errors?

Attached a figure where you can see this local error in a corner:

Thank you all and best regards,

Alejandro

• HDLI
      Ansys Employee

Hello Alejandro,

Please review this link in Maxwell -> Maxwell 2D Technical Notes -> Transient Simulation. https://ansyshelp.ansys.com/Views/Secured/Electronics/v221/en/home.htm#../Subsystems/Maxwell/Content/TimeDependentMagneticFieldSimulation.htm?TocPath=Maxwell%257CMaxwell%2520Help%257CMaxwell%25202D%2520Technical%2520Notes%257CTransient%2520Simulation%257CTime-Dependent%2520Magnetic%2520Field%2520Simulation%257C_____0

HDLI

• AlejandroFN
      Subscriber

Hello HDLI,

Thank you for the answer, however the provided link does not show the information we are looking for. It just show the Maxwell equation, not how it is implemented in ANSYS Maxwell, and does not tell what is the gauge used.