General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Modelling of Sandwich Panel (CEINTF operation)

• kreggy
      Subscriber

Good day. I am relatively new in FEM modelling altogether, so I would gladly appreciate your help here.

I am trying to model a sandwich panel, where an EPS foam is sandwiched by two concrete faces. The concrete face is supported by a steel mesh grid at its mid-thickness, where the two steel mesh are connected by diagonal steel wires embedding through the concrete and EPS. A rigid steel beam at the top of the panel is placed to maintain constant deformation at the top nodes of the panel.

• Sheldon Imaoka
      Ansys Employee

To reference nodes or elements that are present in Mechanical (not created by APDL), you would use Named Selections.
      Named Selections of bodies (line or solid bodies) become element components (see "CM" command), which you can select or reference in commands.
      Named Selections of vertices, edges, or surfaces become nodal components that you can also reference in commands.
      I hope this may help you get started.
      Regards Sheldon

• kreggy
      Subscriber

With regards to your suggestion, I am thinking of using one of the two APDL commands below, together with the CEINTF operation. Do you think that the code is correct to achieve my objective (to join their nodes such that they deform together), or is there anything I need to change?
      Also, I saw on another forum answer that I can use the Share Typology function in SpaceClaim instead to achieve this. Do you have any thoughts about this?
      I really appreciate your help in my concern. Thank you.
      CODE 1:
      /PREP7
      CMSEL,S,NS_SteelRebars,ELEM
      NSLE,S
      CMSEL,S,NS_ConcreteFace,ELEM
      CMSEL,A,NS_EPSFoam,ELEM
      NSLE,A
      CMSEL,S,NS_SteelBeam,ELEM
      CEINTF,0.1
      ALLSEL,ALL
      /SOLU
      OUTRES,ALL,ALL

CODE 2:
      /PREP7
      CMSEL,S,NS_SteelRebars,ELEM
      CMSEL,A,NS_ConcreteFace,ELEM