Fluids

Fluids

Natural Circulation

• ramesbas
      Subscriber

Hi all, I am new to Fluent (very new). I am planning to do simple simulation for my master thesis. Idea is to find out how much of the steam is evaporated. scheme is From drum Water flow through downcomer in Downward direction (Water with Geodetic height which is driving force) then it enters the vertical Heating surface (converts water into water steam mixture by heating) and the back to drum where generated steam leaves the system. My queries are 1. Water + steam mixture can be evlautaed 2. Any kind of tutorial is available? Thanks for helping out guys

• raul.raghav
      Subscriber

The evaporation-condensation model in Fluent can be used for your case.

Fluent: Evaporation-Condensation Model

The following youtube videos show the modeling of evaporation in Ansys Fluent. The video has a horizontal heating surface and you can see how the water vapor is modeled to leave the system.

Attached is a pdf file which describes all the phase change models in Fluent, if you want to explore more options available.

• ramesbas
      Subscriber

Dear Raul, I have seen the You tube video . It gives some idea but your presentation pdf has some more valuable inputs which is more interesting. Is it possible to sent me an Geometry and meshing to Baskar.Ramesh@b-tu.de ? It would be helpfull for start learning!

• raul.raghav
      Subscriber

Ramesh, you might not find a lot of tutorials on evaporation modeling. So you can create a geometry real quick based on the youtube video I shared. It should be fairly easy to make the geometry shown. Once you're familiar with Fluent and this model, in particular, you can design your geometry and build your mesh.  Since you're "very new" as you mention, feel free to ask questions along the way.

• ramesbas
      Subscriber