General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Nodal angular displacements

• Zainaba98
      Subscriber

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Ansys and have the following problem.

[Please see attached video for graphical aid]

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber
      Nodes connected to solid elements do not have rotational degrees of freedom, which is why the values are always zero. That is normal.
      Nodes connected to shell or beam elements have rotational degrees of freedom.
      In order to track the rotation of the end face of the solid beam, you need to attach a Remote Point, type = Deformable, to that face. That will put a pilot node at the center of the face that will interpolate the motion of all the nodes on that face and report deformation in six degrees of freedom.
      I see you are using ANSYS 19.2.
      Have you tried to insert a Flexible Rotation Probe?
      https://forum.ansys.com/discussion/1163/measuring-rotation-in-ansys-mechanical-application-workbench
    • Zainaba98
      Subscriber
      Thank you so much for the reply. Yes I did try a flexible rotation probe but it didn't work to measure angular displacements of nodes.
      However, I tried adding a remote point and I have a few questions in this regard:
      1- If I associate the remote point to a node, it gives me zero angular displacements. However, if I assign it to multiple nodes belonging to the same face it gives me a non-zero number (however one which is very big). Is this normal?
      2- When I assign a remote point to a face, what it measures is the average of angular displacements of all nodes of that face. am I right?