General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Obtaining ultimate load in ansys workbench

• NiranjanRamesh
      Subscriber
      I been working on concrete filled steel tube. I want to get the ultimate load from the model, Is there any possibilities of doing that in ansys workbench?, kindly help me out. Thanks in advance.
    • peteroznewman
      Subscriber

You can predict the ultimate load of a concrete filled steel tube in ANSYS. 
      Please review this relevant discussion.
      How is your steel tube loaded?

• NiranjanRamesh
      Subscriber
      Thank you Mr.Peter for your response, the model I've designed is a column with fixed support at the bottom and a compressive load on the top, with various eccentricity.
    • NiranjanRamesh
      Subscriber

i have attached my model with this, as i am new to ansys kindly ignore the mistakes if there is any. I been Ansys workbench 18.1 for the modelling, Please respond. Thank You

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Wow!  For a beginner with ANSYS, you have made a lot of progress, well done.

Here are a list of changes I recommend.

The two solids are assigned to be Structural Steel. Create a Concrete material and assign that to the inner solid. The material has to have some failure mechanism added because all you have is a linear material and that never fails. For the concrete, the Microplane method is recommended.  For the steel, you have to add Plasticity. A simple model is Bilinear Isotropic Hardening. In that model you just need the Yields Strength and the Tangent Modulus.

There is bonded contact between the faces that touch. Delete the bonded contact between the bodies, that is unnecessary.

The mesh has only one element through the thickness of the steel. At least four elements are required.
      Delete the Contact Match Group, that is not required.

You can also add a mesh control called Inflation to make smaller elements near the outside of the inner core.