Fluids

Fluids

phase change tutorial details

• mossaied2
      Subscriber

Hello,

I found this tutorial (https://studentcommunity.ansys.com/file/download/562c86f6-123a-4cfc-b1b4-a8d40120e625/) that I believe it is made by some ansys staff. This tutorial is testing thermal phase-change module in ansys, although the details are not clear. I believe the inlet is defined as "mass-flow inlet" but how about the output? I made it "outflow" since I do not know the BC at the outlet but it diverges and always I see "reversed backflow in 60 faces on outflow" while solving. Also to what value should I set the gauge pressure at the inlet. the operating pressure is shown to be 108 bar in the tutorial, so should I set the gauge pressure at the inlet to 108-101=7bars? sorry my background basically in electrical engineering and also I am new to ansys so I have some difficulties.

Thanks  

• DrAmine
      Ansys Employee

Gauge pressure on pressure inlet or massflow inet is not used for subsonic flow. It is just here to initialize from it nothing more. Never use outflow boundary condition for non developed flows. Just use pressure outlet.

• mossaied2
      Subscriber

Thanks sir for the reply. Actually, it is not clear from the tutorial what should be the pressure at the outlet and I do not know how to estimate it.

Also I know that saturated water liquid at 590 k should evaporate at 108 bar, so where should I put that value, should I put it in the operating pressure ? or in mass-flow-rate input as a gauge pressure?

I appreciate if this tutorial was really from Ansys, to lead me a more detailed resource that contains the steps of building that model

Thanks  

• Karthik R
      Administrator

Hello,