General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Pipeline Buckling Analysis

• Adrian Lim
      Subscriber

Greetings, 

I'm new to Ansys and currently working on a pipeline buckling analysis under High Temperature High Pressure condition and I'm unsure of the direction and approach of the simulation is right. Here is what I have come up so far, I've modelled a 3D cross section pipe and implied 20MPa pressure normal to the internal surface on the pipe and a hydrostatic pressure simulating the pipe is on a seabed surface. I have selected two end faces of the pipe as displacement constraint where they can only move in lateral directions and select all the bottoms nodes of the pipe with the same displacement constraint where they can only move in lateral and logitudinal directions (to simulate lateral buckling). The thermal condition of the pipe is then defined at 100°C under the buckling analysis. Large deflection is turned on.  

1. The solution is able to solve and here are the results, no matter how I increase the internal pressure/temperature, the maximum deflection remains the same(1m), is there any limitations that prevent the pipe for going further? The only changes are the multipliers and the minimum deflection value. 
      2. How do we obtain the critical buckling stress from the load multiplier below? Understanding from Linear solutions, the multipler is factored to the applied load and we may get the critical buckling but for non-linear cases it does not seem to be the case. From the second figure below the last scenario would be what I'm having now, would my critical buckling stress be the stress applied in structural analysis (internal pressure+hydrostatic pressure)+(compressive stress caused by temperature)*multiplier?Appreciate if someone could guide me on this. 

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber
      1. The Total Deformation plot is to look at the shape only and the magnitude is arbitrary with a maximum of 1.