Fluids

Fluids

Residuals and Convergence

• Noelly
      Subscriber

Hello, 

I know there are many posts about residuals and convergence, sorry to bring up another one...

I am using a k-omega model and this is what my residual plot looks like:

I am not very experienced with Fluent, I just finished the Cornell series "A hands-on introduction to engineering simulations" and I guess I still need more practice. But would you mind helping me with the following:

1. From this discussion (https://forum.ansys.com/forums/topic/how-to-get-system-convergence/?order=all#comment-7bb6d7e2-172d-49de-82e8-aaa90073b115) I learned that there are scaled and non scaled residuals, and that I can monitor other variables to check convergence. Why is it the case that it is more difficult for the continuity residuals to achieve the target convergence in some cases? 

2. I am confused as to how the solver treats the values we input as convergence criteria. What I mean is does the solver tries to reach convergence "equally" or is there an existing "competition": if for example I choose 1e-5 for continuity and 1e-3 for all the other, will the solver behave differently from a case where all the values would be 1e-3? 

3. I observed similar trends in this thread as well (https://forum.ansys.com/forums/topic/convergence-of-steady-state-turbulent-airflow/?order=all#comment-f8a999b3-4598-456c-9b6b-aa9d00b5fad6)and found out that there are Fluent lectures available. Can anyone help me accessing them please? I could not find them on the website. Or is it part of the subscription? If so would you have resources that I could consult specifically about the topic of convergence?

(Oh and I checked, the values for my average and maximum skewness are 0.23 and 0.87 respectively)

Thanks!

• Rob
      Ansys Employee