Fluids

Fluids

Residuals-output from Fluent in batch mode (TUI)

• ujjsf
      Subscriber

Hey there!

I'm a engineering student doing my master thesis using Fluent for some flow simulations via batch mode on a Linux cluster.

Im searching for a way to export the residual history of a simulation automatically to a textfile using TUI commands in a Journal file. There is a TUI option to plot the residuals to file (/plot/residuals-set/plot-to-file *filename*) which only creates an empty textfile, doesn't matter if I use the command before starting or after finishing the calculation. In some internet forums people say, I need to use the command after the calculation and then calculate one more iteration, which does work for GUI mode but not for batch mode - the created textfile remains empty in this case.

Is there any way to export the residuals from Fluent? Maybe even during the calculation (which would be amazing!)? I know there are some ways programming a scheme script or bash script but I guess this kind of basic function should be implemented in Fluent?

Maybe even a way to plot for example time step size, iterations per time step and other simulation data over time during the calculation?

Kind regards and thanks a lot in advance for your help!

ujjsf

• s_88j4ba
      Subscriber
      Hi ujjsf I've experienced the very same problem, getting an empty file.txt when using the required plot-command in the journal file!!! For the GUI, though, it works fine...
      i) initializing the solution ii) typing /plot/residuals-set/plot-to-file "file.txt" in the console iii) and running the calculation.
      But in batch mode, there's no chance, neither on the cluster nor on the local machine. Same Fluent version!
      Did you maybe figured out how to solve it, or anybody else that can help or explain why ANSYS FLUENT needs to make it so hard to get the residuals
      kind regards
      panda_ray
    • Swathi V. V.
      Ansys Employee