General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Simplification of calculation

• javat33489
      Subscriber

I am a young engineer. And I often face the limitation of the power of my PC and calculations. Please tell me this question. I have a rubber ring that I'm trying to squeeze. I know the material and I digitized it. The ring cannot be made symmetrical or axially symmetrical, because the cutouts are not symmetrical. It has to be counted in its entirety. With a good grid, at least 1 mm, this is 500k elements. My PC cannot do this. Maybe there are life hacks to simplify the calculation yet?

• Mike Rife
      Ansys Employee

Hi javat33489

Define compressibility for the material so that mixed uP elements are not needed, and an iterative solver (PCG) can be used.  Mike

• javat33489
        Subscriber

I know about the direct solver.

>>Define compressibility for the material so that mixed uP elements are not needed

It is possible here in more detail?

• Mike Rife
      Ansys Employee

javat33489

What kind of details?

• javat33489
        Subscriber

Define compressibility for the material so that mixed uP elements are not needed What do you mean? Please describe in more detail?

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

What material model are you using for your rubber?  What material constants are you using for that model?

• javat33489
        Subscriber

I am using Ogden 1 order.

Constants built using curve fitting.

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Please reply with a screen shot of the material constants.

• Mike Rife
      Ansys Employee