General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Simulating acoustic propagation in an elliptic resonator.

• Suidakl
      Subscriber

Hello, I'm not sure if this category is appropriate for my discussion.

But actually I'm a master student currently doing a master thesis of photoacoustic sensor design.

So the idea is the following, by choosing carefully the parameters of the ellipse (the length a and c),

we create an ultrasound spherical wave (100 kHz) at the first focal point F, and because of the particular elliptic property which is as follows : MF + MF' = 2a (where F is whatever the point you want on the ellipse curve), we can deduce that every acoustics waves that are gonna hit the wall are also gonna end up in phase at the opposite focal point F' with the forward propagating wave if you choose a suitable a and c (so a and b) in such a way that 2a-2c = lambda (acoustic wavelength).

Actually I've already tried it out in reality. I mean I designed the ellipse on Autodesk Inventor and I printed it out in 3D. To generate the ultrasound I inserted a Quartz Tuning Fork at the first focal point, and to detect it I inserted an other quartz tuning fork at the opposite focal point (both inserting in with a very small opening) connected to a preamplifier circuit to increase the output signal. With a 10V sinusoidal input function I get out a signal of 200 mV magnitude at the other tuning fork and of course at the same frequency.

However I would also like to validate the acoustic theory with a simulation. I've never used Ansys before and I've just downloaded the student version. I tried to simulate it with my 3D ellipse with thickness and a tiny sphere at the first focal point to modelize the ultrasound source. And I also created the soustracted volume to modelize the air inside. I tried to mesh it but apparently it's not working. And I'm a bit lost with the boundary conditions. The tutorials on youtube are not really helping.