General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Simulation of flange joint

• ganobe12
      Subscriber

Hi everyone, I am trying to reproduce the results of a paper in which they have simulated a bolted flange joint with a gasket by taking symmetry across the half gasket thickness. Frictionless contacts are assumed and nonlinear gasket behavior is modeled. For bolt tightening, a certain displacement value is applied on the bolt shank bottom to get the target stress value. Also bolts are tightened one at a time thus multiple time steps are defined.

In the paper APDL is used while I am using Workbench as I have no experience with APDL.

Following the paper I have created my model but when I initially solve the model after applying a displacement value on the first bolt only I am getting weird behavior of the joints. I have tried to model symmetry by applying a frictionless support instead of a defining a symmetry region but in both cases I am getting the same issues:

1)Some sort of rigid body motion/contact separation as all the bolts other than the one on which displacement is applied become separated from the flange after the 2nd step.

2)Also large stress values are there in the 1st step which should not be the case as no load is applied in the first step. Only bolts are constrained in the radial direction. I am applying the displacement in the 2nd step only.

I am attaching my ANSYS project file and reference paper here.

I do not have too much experience with FEA thus any help would be much appreciated. Thank you

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber
      I have added some constraints that allow this first step to be solved.
      It would be better to fix all the bolt faces at the center plane. Delete the displacement on the one bolt to tension it. Replace that with Bolt Pretension Load. In that way you can have 16 load steps. Step 1 is to load bolt 1, step 2 is to lock bolt 1. Step 3 is to load bolt 2, step 4 is to lock bolt 2, etc.

• ganobe12
      Subscriber