Fluids

Fluids

Simulation of steel ball dropping from the air to the water tank using DPM

• Dong Ha KIM
      Subscriber

Hello,

I am a novice for the Ansys Fluent and I am trying to simulate the steel ball (diameter of 0.05m) dropping experiment using DPM (Discrete Phase Model). The steel ball is dropping 0.385m above the water pool of 1.5m deep. 2 phases of water (primary phae) and air (secondary phase), and a discrete phase of steel ball are defined in the multiphase DPM model. The DPM penetration length result from the 22R1 version shows that the steel ball bounces back  when it drops about 0.3 m ( near the water pool surface). Then it jumps up about 0.2 m and then starts going down again (refer to the attached file). The tank consists of upper part (for the air) and lower part (for the water pool), and there is nothing between the two parts. The mesh type is a cube and its size is 0.1m. My questions are: 1) Is the DPM model appropriate for the simulation of steel ball dropping experiment under this  condition? 2) why does the steel ball bounce back? (When I drop the ball 0.2m above the pool, there is no bounce back and the steel ball reaches the tank bottom gradually) 3)  I read from the manual that the discrete phase reacts with the primary phase only. When I model the free surface problem mentioned above with the primary phase of water and the secondary phase of air, which phase reacts with the discrete phase (steel ball) while the steel balls drops? Thanks.

• C N
      Ansys Employee

Hello,

For this particular application, The Discrete phase modelling is not applicable. The VOF model approach can be used. For further understanding refer this link 22.3. Setting Up the VOF Model (ansys.com).Because in DPM approach the ball will be considered as a point mass without any volume so it will not displace anything .

Thanks

• Dong Ha KIM
      Subscriber