Fluids

Fluids

Trouble Patching Pressure – Please help!!

• Hilary Egglestone
      Subscriber

Hi All, 

I am new to ANSYS and I have hit a wall with my simulation and I am really hoping someone can help. The situation is as follows: I am 2-D modelling air and water in a cannister that is tubular in shape with a circular area at the bottom. Specifically, I want to show how high pressure air in the bottom of the cannister will eject a column of water out of the tube. I am initializing my solution and then patching both 3 atm of pressure into circular area at the bottom of the cannister and a column of water  into the cannister (see images). Everywhere except the circular area is at 1 atm of pressure. 

Everything looks good until I run my simulation: instead of the water being ejected from the cannister as expected, the high pressure area is dissipating almost instantaneously and the water is dripping down into the circular area. There is no inlet in this system and the only outlet is the outer edge of the square that serves as my domain to capture the ejection. The cannister is completely enclosed except for the opening at the end where the water should be ejected. I have tried patching very high pressures (10 atm) and the result is the same. What could be going on here? 

Other important parameters not shows in screenshot?

General: Pressure Based, Transient Simulation

Models: Multiphase, VOF

Help is much appreciated!!

IMAGES FROM SETUP:

---------------------

IMAGES FROM SOLUTION:

• SRP
      Subscriber

Hi,

I advise you to employ a density-based solver. After that, carry out initialization and patch the pressure to the specific zones.

I hope this solves your problem.

Thanks

Saurabh

• Hilary Egglestone
      Subscriber

Thank you SRP for you response. Unfortunately, it looks like when I use the density solver I am unable to use a multiphase model. 

• SRP
      Subscriber

Hi,

1) Your mesh is coarser in cannister. I suggest to make it refine.