General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Tubing convergence

• zjuv9021
      Subscriber

Hi all,

I'm working on rotating part of a tubing 30 degrees, and then displacing the tubing as it hits a wall above it and slides past the fixed support and buckles (please see attached .wbpz labeled "Skin restriction"):

I'm having difficulties getting this to bend to 30 degrees, let alone displace back through the tubing.

Refining the mesh further seemed to make matters worse in regards to converging... so I'm a little lost. 

Could anyone provide some demonstration on how to actually get this object to bend 30 degrees and slide past and buckle the fixed support?

If possible, how would I set this up in Explicit Dynamics? Can this be done? I'm new to explicit, so any demonstration on how best to get started within there is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Zach

• Sandeep Medikonda
      Ansys Employee

Zach, Didn't peter help you with this? How is this different?

If your problem is with buckling of the tube. Note that buckling is a numerical instability, you would either have to add stabilization energy (energy-preferred) to your model or use the arc-length method (will need to use command snippets) in static structural. Please look up in the manual on how to do this.

Regards,
      Sandeep

• zjuv9021
      Subscriber

Thank you, Sandeep.

This is a little different. I have altered the geometry a bit and have included nonlinear Mooney-Rivlin 2 Parameter hyperelastic materials into my model.

Regards,

Zach

• peteroznewman
      Subscriber

Zach,

I ran your attached model and it completed step 1, which was to bend 30 degrees, but it had a kink at the end of the tube and lost convergence during the push. I would make two changes.

(1) I recommend instead of 50 elements along the sweep...

... using 200 elements along the sweep. This will be more stable, though it will take 4 times longer for each iteration.