General Mechanical

General Mechanical

Type of elements and 2d stress problem

• emesilva
      Subscriber

Hello everyone, I am new to ANSYS and also in this forum.

The issue is this: I am modeling a plate in tension with stress concentrators and I started with a 2D sketch in Design Modeler and gave it its thickness in Mechanical APDL. I used structural steel and restricted the displacement of one face completely and applied a force on the opposite face to simulate tension.

Respecto to meshing, I used both linear and quadratic elements and also in the method window I picked both triangular and quadrilateral (dominant) elements, in addition I also refined the meshing on the stress concentrators with smaller elements.

However, I commented this to my professor of finite elements and he told me until I define if my elements are CST or Isoparametric (for

example) '' the finite elements I was using were not finite elements and it wasnt enough with just linear quadrilateral elements or quadratic triangles (for example) ''. The question is: in which part of ANSYS can I configurate if my elements are Isoparametric or CST (for example)?

And I have another question related with the problem that I mention: what elements should I use near the stress concentrators? I know I have to refine the mesh in those areas but I know there are elements in particular that are not recommended to use under certain conditions, although I do not have it absolutely clear because I'm new to the finite element method.

Greetings from Chile and I sorry for my english, I'm working on it.

Note: For the plate in the screen capture: H = 150mm, L=150mm, d=100mm, r=15mm, t=25mm, h=10mm, P = 1000N, sigma nom = 1 MPa and the maximum normal stress I got is 1.73 MPa.

• emesilva
      Subscriber

• jpasquerell
      Ansys Employee