Electronics

Electronics

Via array simulation and further simulations

Tagged: ,

• gtheis
      Subscriber
      Hello,nFirstly, I am a total beginner with ANSYS in general. I want to explore the simulation of a via array in a PCB. Whereas the top metal should be at constant temperature (i.e: 25 degC) and the bottom metal should inject 1W of power. This would allow me to extract the thermal resistance of the via array. This was done in a paper (Thermal Modeling and Design Optimization of PCB Vias and Pads, using Icepak 2019)nFurther I'd like to add a chip (plastic QFN-48 chip) on top of this via array and insert its two-resistor model parameters (given in the datasheet) and simulate it. In the cases mentioned radiation and convection can be ignored.nAs I am a beginner with 1-month trial (I need to evaluate the software as quick as possible to see if we switch to ANSYS) I am creating this thread to have further support/references/direction while reading the documentation.nFurther I would have somewhat of complex PCB model with several chips (with single and two-resistor models) and only have natural convection and radiation. I have measurements from this last simulation I intend to run. The big problem is that the current software used is not delivering close results to the experiments and the support is taking too much time (and thus blocking the project). So it was decided to see if ANSYS and Icepak could be faster/easier, have results close to the experiments, and then we would switch the software.nThanks in advance!n
    • Satyajeet Padhi
      Ansys Employee